Keeping up With Reading When Life Gets in the Way

By Danielle Lieneman

It can be difficult to find the time to keep up with your daunting pile of books waiting to be read once life gets in the way. As much as reading is an enjoyable and relaxing part of my book stack w: mug.jpgday, all too frequently I realize that it’s been three weeks since I’ve touched a book that wasn’t for work or school. Here to help combat life (and that Netflix addiction), I hope that your love of reading is fulfilled.

Create a set amount of time that you want to read every day.

Treat this time like an appointment and put away all distractions (Twitter can find out what your reading AFTER you’re done!). This time can be entirely dependent on your schedule, as long as you make it a part of it, and can be as long or short as you want. You’ll be surprised how quickly 15, 20, and 30-minute increments can add up.  Last semester, I started setting my alarm 40 minutes earlier than I needed to actually wake up to give myself some time to read while enjoying my morning coffee, and I managed to get through five books!

Carry a book with you everywhere you go.

While the daily commute on the bus or subway can seem like a waste of time, if you’ve got a book in your hands what better way to pass the time! If the doctor’s office is behind (as always seems to be the case), or your ride is running late, you won’t be bored if given the opportunity to read a few pages. This doesn’t need to be a physical, hardcopy of a book because those can get cumbersome while on the go, but downloading the Kindle app on your phone is a great way to always have access to thousands of books.

Listen to audiobooks.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of audiobooks for the longest time, but now I can’t get enough of them. They’re the perfect companion when driving to work or school or walking around campus. Although as a disclaimer, I must say be careful when choosing your book choices for that car ride. I just finished Lauren Graham’s Talking As Fast as I Can and between laughing and crying at the Gilmore Girls reminiscing I swear I was about to crash my car!

Make a book club with your friends.

I know that book clubs are something only middle-aged women do, but I’m here to tell you
that simply isn’t the case! What better way to motivate yourself to make time for reading than the promise of discussing it with your best friends over brunch. No one wants to be book club .jpgthe only one who didn’t finish and who doesn’t love a good reason to eat a Belgian waffle from your favorite brunch locale? Book clubs are also a great way to find new books that wouldn’t typically be up your alley. There’s even some celebrities who have a running book club list (Emma Watson, Oprah), so there’s not even the excuse of being unable to pick a book!photo-jan-15-3-14-59-pm

I know it’s easier said than done, but once a routine has been established, it becomes much easier for reading to become a part of your regular daily habits.

Leave a Reply

