Keep Track of Your Reading List with Goodreads

By Kylie Widseth

You know that moment when you first meet someone. That moment when you just know that the second you have a wifi-enabled device in your grasp you’re going to find them on Facebook, stalk them to find out every detail of their life to see if you two are really meant to be best friends forever. Okay, maybe that’s just me. But admit it, to some extent I know that’s everyone out there reading this.

I would actually go out on a limb and say that my favorite type of social media is not actually Facebook. I know, I know, it’s a shocker to me too. My favorite type of social media platform is actually one that involves books, so naturally, it’s Goodreads.

Can we just take a moment to say a quick thank you to the person that came up with this brilliant idea?

Goodreads is everything I’ve ever needed in more. To explain it simply, it’s basically Facebook but every single thing has to do with books. Your friends can update their status on what book they’re reading, comment on someone else’s reading status, add books to their to be read list, rate books they’ve read, and the list goes on and on.

One of the first questions I typically ask a fellow reader is if they have a Goodreads account or not? If they do, I know I’m instantly going to be clicking on the “compare books” button on their profile to see how similar our book tastes are.

Goodreads has been my saving grace in so, so many ways. If I’m at the bookstore and I’m questioning whether I should buy a book or not, I immediately turn to the site to check out the reviews and rating out of 5 stars. If I see a friend has read the book, I quickly text them to ask them if they think the book is worth reading. Sometimes I’ve bought a book because it has a 3-star rating and sometimes I don’t buy a book for that exact same reason. Oddly enough there is a little excitement knowing that a book you’re reading doesn’t have the highest rating on Goodreads, but you just really had the feeling that the book was going to perfect for you.

Now I’ve had my Goodreads account since middle school, so I did got a little crazy with adding books to my TBR. I’m pretty sure I have over 600 books on my list, but in my defense, I just got a little excited when I first started using the site. Slowly but surely, I’m trying to get rid of all those Justin Bieber biographies and middle-school aged books from my TBR list. Hey Goodreads, can you find a way to make it a little easier to delete multiple books at a time?.) Any time I’m watching BookTube video and they talk about a book set to be released that sounds interesting, I first go to Goodreads to add it to my list.

Not only does Goodreads allow you to rate books after you’ve read them, but it’s also a little like Netflix, Goodreads will give you recommendations based on books you did or didn’t like. You never know, your new favorite book could just be waiting in the Goodreads recommendation lists.

I know this may seem pretty obvious, but it’s much more valuable than you think. Goodreads keeps track of all the books you’ve read and when you read them, etc. I know you’re thinking, well duh, Kylie, but just hear me out. I cannot tell you the amount of times asks me if I’ve read a book, and I sit there thinking, maybe, but I’m not sure. Goodreads saves me every time. I can quickly go to my account and say oh yeah, I read that book two years ago, and I gave it 4 stars! If I’ve even left a written review for the book, it’s such a quick, easy, and nice way to give myself a little refresher. It’s amazing how just a couple sentences can really jog your memory.

I’m grateful for always being able to stalk my avid reader friends at any place and any time. This is just a little ode to Goodreads for always having my back. I don’t know where I would be without you, stay beautiful.

If you have a Goodreads, please add me! My favorite friends are Goodreads friends!

 

Leave a Reply

