Perfecting your resume

By Kylie Widseth

Job interviews can be tricky, and the resume that lands you the interview can be even trickier. But don’t worry! We have compiled a list of some of the most important items to remember when designing your resume.

  • shutterstock_360053675Keep it at one page

This kind of goes off my previous note. You can have an overwhelming amount of experience and a wide range of involvement, but you must make sure your resume is only one page! Sometimes employers won’t even look at your resume if it’s over a page. There are some tricks you can use if you have so much relevant experience. Consider making your resume two columns; consider making the font smaller, etc.

  • It’s not about the number of activities/jobs

Especially in school, people think it’s best to join a million different organizations just to be able to add them to your resume. This is actually not the case; oftentimes companies want to see your growth over the years in one particular area. For example, in my case, I was in newspaper for three years in high school. When employers look at my resume, they will see the growth I made in newspaper from a focus on writing to eventually video editing and even working my way to become a co-editor.shutterstock_373089328

  • It’s not all about being paid

I know this is a tough one in this day and age, but some important resume builders don’t always include a pay. Look into taking non-paid internships and doing volunteer work related to your dream job. In my case, my dream job is to continue working in publishing in any capacity that I can. This summer, I decided to volunteer at a library because I still want to be able to keep my hands on books. I may not physically be involved with the book-making process while at the library, but I am still very much involved with getting books in the hands of readers.

  • Don’t include every job you’ve ever had

I’ve had plenty of jobs over the years, but I don’t include every single one on my resume because some of them aren’t relevant. I pick the ones that really show my strengths, and you guessed it, are relevant to my dream job. As much as I’ve loved my time at AMC Theatres, Toys “R” Us, and Vala’s Pumpkin Patch (thanks, guys), they aren’t very relevant to my future in the publishing industry. That’s not to say that these companies mentioned aren’t relevant to any job. For example, if I were to apply to Disney, those jobs would be pretty relevant to a job with Disney. Make sure to only include jobs on your resume that are relevant to the job you are applying for.

shutterstock_250929607

51DRUNlQF2L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_While these are some tips to remember when making your resume, there is always more you can do! Check out our book, The Young Adult’s Survival Guide to Interviews, for more tips and tricks on how to have a perfect resume and land an interview!

 

Leave a Reply

