Classic summer with summer classics

By: Kylie Widseth

Just hearing the word “classics” makes us all want to groan a little bit – Trust me, I feel your pain. There is something about the idea of required reading that just makes reading not fun. I totally get it. But maybe, just maybe, you should try reading a few classics this summer and see if the lifted pressure of reading these books on your own time actually ends up making these books enjoyable. I’ve compiled a list of some of my favorite classics!

  1. Pride and Prejudice – Everyone loves a good romance. Okay, maybe not everyone, but if you’re a fan of the romance genre, you will love this book! Elizabeth Bennet feels the pressure from her family to get married, but she just can’t seem to find the right person. Then, she meets Mr. Darcy and everything changes. I loved this book. It’s not your typical romance novel, and the writing style is hard to pick up at first, but this book is a true gem. When I was in high school, some classmates were in charge of casting the students in the class as characters from the book. I was cast as Jane, which was and still is a true honor.  shutterstock_199509770
  2. 1984 – This book follows Winston Smith who just can’t seem to escape from Big Brother (the government). This book mildly scared me, as I think it does everyone, because of how real it is that we could one day turn into this kind of society – especially with today’s technology advancements. Regardless of whether you see the similarities to our world, this book was very addicting, and I could not put it down.
  3. Slaughterhouse Five – This book tells the story of Billy Pilgrim who becomes unstuck in time. He travels back and forth through his life and can’t ever seem to stay in one time for very long. I studied this book for over a month for a school project I did in high school. I had always imagined that I would be sick of it by the time we were done, but it was such a fascinating book. I also got to role-play as Kurt Vonnegut, which was pretty fun.

No matter what is on your TBR list for the summer, I highly recommend trying one of these classics. Even if you’ve read these while in school, try reading them again and see if the idea of reading for fun makes it just a little bit better!

Leave a Reply

