Book Blogging 101

By: Kylie Widseth

shutterstock_593109293I don’t know about you, but every time I read a book, I want to share my thoughts with someone or even shout how much I love the book from the rooftops.

Since the second option might not be a socially acceptable answer, I’ve come up with a more appropriate way to share your feelings about a book: blogging.

A couple years ago, I actually created my own blog! It’s been a really fun way to vocalize my thoughts on different books that I read. While I do sometimes make recorded videos about my thoughts on a book, there is something to be said about the written word. For me, it’s sometimes much easier to write my thoughts down than to vocalize them out loud, because I can really craft my words and edit them if I write them down.

shutterstock_577600897Book blogging is also a great way to keep track of the books you read; I often go back to my blog to see what books I have and haven’t read. It’s also nice to be able to go back and read all about what you thought of the book. People will often ask me, “Is [insert book name here] a good book?” and I read so much that I will often go back and reference my blog posts in order to refresh my memory on what I read.

On the flip side, it’s just a fact of life that we won’t love every single book we read. It’s nice to, at that moment in time, be able to talk about what you didn’t like so when people ask why you didn’t love the book, you have specific reasons as to why you didn’t like it. Don’t be afraid to talk about a book you didn’t like, but always remember to be respectful about it. People will listen to your thoughts more if you explain specific reasons why you didn’t like the book instead of just saying you hate it and leaving it at that.

shutterstock_350982164Blogging is also a great way to connect with people; you can meet other bloggers and connect all about book blogging! You can bond with people about books you both mutually loved and even books you both mutually hated, especially if they are books most people love. When I went to BookExpo this past May, I got to interact with and talk to so many other book bloggers and make friends from all over the world!

I know starting a blog can be scary, but it’s such a great opportunity to express your views with the rest of the book community and maybe even people that aren’t readers! It’s a daunting task to figure out which platform you want to create your blog on, and my suggestion would be to start with WordPress. There are real company websites out there that use WordPress as a base to create the elaborate sites they now have.

51DanJuR0KL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_If you’ve ever pondered starting a book blog, I highly recommend it! There is no time like the present! And if you’re looking for more tips and tricks check out our book, So You Want to Start a Blog.

Leave a Reply

