Why You Should Read all Genres

By: Kylie Widseth

I don’t know about you, but I’m 100 percent guilty of reading one genre and sticking to it. So I understand people who feel the same way as me. But there are so many benefits to diversifying your reading and reading every genre that you possibly can.

I won’t be able to cover every single genre because there are quite a few different types out there, but these are just a few genres that first came to mind.

shutterstock_415030975Nonfiction

I know, I know. I’m pretty sure I heard a collective groan from everyone reading this because, if you’re like me, you just naturally think of school textbooks when you hear that word. But nonfiction books can actually be really fun and enjoyable to read! According to Goodreads, the top three nonfiction books are The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, and Bossypants by Tina Fey.

On that note, people sometimes forget that biographies are considered to be nonfiction, so consider picking up a biography about one of your role models and learning a few things about them!

Atlantic has tons of nonfiction books to choose from, too; after all, we are a nonfiction publisher. I may be a slightly biased source, but I find our books to be very enjoyable!

Check out some of our books on our website! We have some young adult books, some memoirs, some self-help books and so much more!

shutterstock_258470099Young Adult

This is one of my personal favorites as it’s the genre I most typically read! There is nothing quite like a young adult book. The characters are just so fun and relatable. I’m at the age now where I’m starting to outgrow this genre, but it’s still fun for me to read because it brings me back to when I was in high school! And if you are currently a young adult yourself, it’s fun to get to learn and grow from reading these character’s stories!

shutterstock_590503346Fantasy/Science Fiction

Books transport us into other worlds and fantasy books specifically transport us into worlds that we might not have been able to even fathom on our own. The beauty in reading fantasy books is just that; there is nothing as magical as being transported to a completely new universe, even if only for a few hundred pages. You can quite literally get lost in a fantasy book and learn more about the world through the endless amounts of world building!

shutterstock_554188024Mystery/Suspense

Mystery is another one of my personal favorites since thrillers could arguably fall into this category as well. Every once in a while it’s exciting to stimulate our brains to see if we can solve the mystery before the characters in the book can. I’ll admit that most of the time I’m wrong when it comes to solving the crime, but it’s still really fun to take all the hints the author gives and see if I can become a detective. I think I’ll stick to publishing because clearly, I’m not a great sleuth.

There are so many other genres I didn’t get a chance to mention like romance, contemporary, dystopian, paranormal, etc. But I tried to just briefly touch on a couple popular genres that first came to mind. But in their own way, every genre and every book has something to offer!

Now the next time you’re looking for a book to read, consider picking up a book that isn’t in your usual genre. You might be surprised with how much you enjoy the book and maybe you will find yourself with a new favorite genre.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

